BMW 2 Series Technical Topics (G42) Wheels / Tires

10-04-2022, 09:08 AM   #1
Jashue
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2022 B58 G42

Newbie here.... couple questions.

So I've settled on a set of VMR 801s for my ZTK 240. The sales consultant with whom I've been corresponding told me that I'll need to use 10mm spacers on the front axel for a proper fit since the 8.5" in the model I want is offered in ET35 or ET45, and not the stock ET25. Presumably, no spacers will be needed on the rear as he didn't mention it in his email.

I've got the impression that a lot of people don't like making use of spacers. Can anyone give me a good reason why?

Also... the new wheels are designated to be my summer set. I'm going to put snows on my current stock wheels and I really hate to do so. The 893M wheels are pretty wide open and will invite a lot of snow and ice in to compromise wheel balance. They DON'T make for good snow wheels and that's just the part of it. The other thing that bugs me is that it's just somehow wrong. I can't really explain it. I'm wondering if there's much of a demand for them on the secondary market?

One last thing: does anyone have any experience with VMR?
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2022, 12:01 PM   #2
1stnten
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: G42 M240i xdrive

I think spacers mess with the geometry of the car slightly. Most cases you will be fine but if anything breaks it could give BMW something to point to.

I’m in the same offset situation as you. I have some winter wheels from my GTI that are 18x8 ET45 and would like to use them on my M240i but have no idea how to confirm they will fit without putting them on the car. From my research, I think a different offset is fine as long as you’re not rubbing against anything. We are talking about millimeters, it shouldn’t make a difference in driving dynamics. Mostly just the rubbing on brakes or suspension is a concern. I’m also a newbie though so anyone please feel free to correct me.
Appreciate 0