home
Technical Sections Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

09-01-2023, 09:13 PM   #1
BlueBeamer
Private
Rep
Drives: 23 M4 Comp xdrive

First time trial G82 Roebling Road

Well the car exceeded all expectations let’s be clear from the start.

So my background is I have raced for over 30 years in many circuits including World Challenge and Trans Am to name a few so a high level of comparison over time vs Mustang, Vettes, etc..

In stone stock same alignment and Michelin tires from factory M4 xdrive is the best besides my C5 Z06.

So a few notes: I ran in M2 then clicked track. All shut off and max all options. Windows never went up FYI and I have the drivers package but not top speed change which I trigger barely at track before braking into 1
Overall Impressions:
Brakes are amazing in stock form. No change fluid or pads and zero fade. Granted low braking track at Roebling but zero fade and stops from 155mph at marker 4 were flawless every time. Also left foot trail braking to get some rotation worked really well.
Transmission was great mid turn and on track. Shifts and power band matching was perfect. These new transmissions are way better than I could do with a stick shift I will admit. By a lot
Tires were decent for street tires. Washed out when getting above 190 temps. Like cup tires best lap is in first 3.
Handling was very predictable. Mild under steer at limit and easily adjusted with more throttle and easy counter steer allowed easy 4 wheels track outs. Turn in needed some help at low to mid speeds for sure but tires would fix that.
Gas lasted 2.5 sessions so about one hour than needed a fill up. 2.3 mile 12 turn road course
Other. So my left knee hurts bad bracing against door Yes better seats vs stock would help a ton and competition seats would be way better and may pick you up some a lap honestly.
Mid speed transition car needs some better dampers and 3 way adjustable may help a ton