BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board The Sports Lounge

09-11-2021, 09:23 PM   #1
wtwo3
Major General
Rep
Drives: 23 X7 40i; 23 M3; 24 cooper s

Garage List
The problem with sports in this era

I think this can apply to all sports but I approach this more from an NBA angle.

I'll preface this by saying, I'm a statistics and analytics guy. I work in the field, and truly understand its value in optimizing things.

That being said.... Analytics are killing sports.

Everything is viewed from an analytics angle, and as a result things sports are now optimized leveraging those analytics. It's why the NBA is full of 3 point shots and the mid-range game is absent. Analytics has found that the most efficient shots are 3 pointers and shots at the rim.

What makes sports exciting is the randomness of it, the hero ball, the emotion, the drama. That is literally all being sucked away into something that's now simply a clinical personification of a math equation.

In an attempt to perfect the sport, we're slowly losing the excitement that's derived from imperfection. We're losing the human quality of it.

What do you all think? Is my head up my ass or do you all feel similarly?

'20 BMW m340i... '20 BMW X5 40i... '16 Infiniti Q50 RS 400... '10 Lexus RX 350... '08 Lexus IS 350... '00 Nissan Maxima... '93 Nissan Maxima
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2021, 09:37 PM   #2
Angelo_GraysonMiniBMW
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 BMW X3,2020 Land Cruiser

No, it started when the NBA and NFL players had to get political. Took all the joy out of the game.
Appreciate 1
F30lolz6798.50
      09-11-2021, 10:09 PM   #3
mapleleaf1773
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 BMW 328i XDrive

Garage List
NHL rocks, its my passion. Its all about team effort and none of what you mention. 100% excitement...who cares about individual efforts, the professionals do not.

Its all about raising lord Stanley in June- period!!!
Appreciate 1
wtwo317864.00